Capturing the Moment

Click! Click! Many enjoy the art of photography.  From the free range of creativity to interacting with families that want to capture special moments, photography offers it all.

About two years ago I decided to venture out and get a good camera.  I decided to go with the Canon branded equipment because it was what I felt was the best at that time after looking at reviews online.  So during that time I was going to be traveling to New York for some training for an entire week and I figured I would take some time and go by the B&H Store in New York.  I must say that it was quite an experience.  They had almost any electronic that one could want.  As I began to look at the selection of Canon cameras with the sales representative, I decided upon one to purchase.  It was definitely a big purchase but I knew it was what I wanted.

Upon returning home from New York, I finally had time to get out and take some pictures with the new camera that I had purchased.  Since it was around Thanksgiving, I had some family that was in town and with them was one of my little photogenic cousins.  She decided that she wanted to be a model for me and we stayed outside for hours taking tons of pictures.  I must say that it went pretty well for my first time taking pictures.  I had played with some of my friends cameras before so I had some idea of what settings should be.

After some time of getting used to the camera and its functions and settings, I decided that I would go and take some classes.  I happened to remember a photography instructor that I met before purchasing my camera.  I decided that I would call her up and see if she had any courses going.  I think I ended up taking about five different courses on different subjects that ranged from using ambient lighting to how to pose models and in addition, we did do some nature photography.

I felt that since I had already learned a good bit, I’d take on a bigger task.  One of my family members asked if I could photograph their wedding.  I knew that it was bigger than anything that I had ever done, but felt that I could take the challenge.  I reached out to one of my friends that had been doing it for a while and he came and assisted me.  I feel that it turned out to be a success and from there I established my own photography company.  However, since I’m a full-time student and work a full-time job, I had to let something go and unfortunately it was photography.  I decided to hold on to all of my equipment because I know that some day I’ll likely get back into it.

 

Leave a Reply

